Meet the Tracheal services team

PLEASE NOTE in the light of the current coronavirus (COVID-19) situation, the Tracheal and Thoracic team has created a handy guidance FAQ document available below:

Coronavirus (COVID-19) – information for children, young people and families from the Tracheal and Thoracic team (0 bytes)


Key members of the Tracheal services team include:

Director of the Tracheal and Aerodigestive Team

Mr Richard HewittConsultant Paediatric Otolaryngologist and Tracheal Surgeon

Cardiothoracic surgery

Mr Nagarajan Muthialu
Consultant Cardiothoracic Surgeon

Professor Martin Elliott 
Professor and Chairman of Cardiothoracic Surgery


Dr Quen Mok
Consultant Intensivist

Interventional radiology/radiology

Dr Derek Roebuck
Consultant Interventional Radiologist

Dr Samantha Chippington 
Consultant Interventional Radiologist

Clare McLaren 
Clinical Specialist Radiographer

Alistair Calder
Consultant Radiologist


Dr Colin Wallis
Consultant Respiratory Paediatrician

Ear, nose and throat

Mr Richard Hewitt
Consultant Paediatric Otolaryngologist

Mr Ben Hartley
Consultant Paediatric Otolaryngologist


Dr Graham Derrick 
Consultant Cardiologist

Clinical specialists

Denise McIntyre
Clinical Nurse Specialist

Neil McIntosh
Clinical Nurse Specialist

Catherine Dunne 
Physiotherapist (Cardiac Clinical Specialist)

Alex Stewart
Speech & Language Therapist

Kate Hawkins
Clinical Psychologist

Dr Christian Bieli, Tracheal Fellow

Mr Colin Butler
Tracheal Fellow


Rose Lake

Research team

Dr Jo Wray
Health Psychologist and Senior Research Fellow in the Centre for Nursing and Allied Health

Ross Holloway
BSc Student (University College London)

Urvi Patel
BSc Student (University College London)

Kirstin Strathie
BSc Student

Eric Makmur
BSc Student (University College London)

Beth Brockbank
BSc Student (University College London)

Waseem Ahmed
MSc Student (ICH)

Management team

Andrew Gralton
Head of Nursing, Cardiorespiratory Unit

Anne Layther
Divisional Director of Operations, West Division

Dr Allan Goldman 
Divisional Co-Chair and Divisional Director, West Division