Council of Governors

The Council of Governors reflects the views of the Foundation Trust’s members, promotes its strategy and holds the Board’s Non-Executive Directors to account. 

Become a member of the Foundation Trust, and help contribute towards the future of Great Ormond Street Hospital.

There are 26 governors who make up our Council of Governors.

17 governors are elected by our Foundation Trust’s public, patient or carer members and five are elected by staff members.

There are also four appointed governors who are nominated by stakeholders such as the local authority, or other organisations.

We see the Council as our critical friend and guardian of our values. Collectively and individually its role is vital as it acts as a link to the hospital community by:

  • involving members directly in our long term vision and planning

  • supervising public involvement, membership recruitment and engagement

The Council also has specific powers and holds the Non-Executive Directors to account for the performance of the Board of Directors. Its duties include:

  • appointing and setting the pay and terms and conditions of appointment of the Trust Chair and Non-Executive Directors

  • ratifying the appointment of the Chief Executive

  • appointing the auditors and receiving the annual report and accounts

Council of Governors' Structure

The Chair of the Council of Governors plays a pivotal role as they are also the chair of the Board of Directors.

To make sure our Council of Governors represents our membership effectively it is divided into a number of groups. These are known as constituencies.

The Council of Governors comprises four main constituencies. For more detail please see the Composition of the Council of Governors page.

Details about the areas of the country covered by our public constituencies can be found  Composition of the Council of Governors here.

Council of Governors' Committees

The Council of Governors delegates certain duties to committees, such as:

The Membership Engagement Recruitment and Representation Committee. See its Terms of Reference here.

The Nomination and Remuneration Committee. See its Terms of Reference here.