[Skip to content]



Cardiomyopathy is the term that is used to describe disease of the heart muscle. 

There are three main types of cardiomyopathy that affect children and young people: 

- dilated cardiomyopathy (where the heart muscle becomes thin and stretched)
- hypertrophic cardiomyopathy (where the heart muscle thickens)
- restrictive cardiomyopathy (where the heart muscle stiffens)

Some types of cardiomyopathy can be inherited (passed from parent to child); others may develop after a viral infection of the heart. 

Our Cardiorespiratory Unit regularly refers to information published by the British Heart Foundation (BHF)  and the Children's Heart Federation when explaining cardiomyopathy to our patients and their families. 

Read about cardiomyopathy on the BHF website 

Read about dilated cardiomyopathy on the Children's Heart Federation website 

Read about hypertrophic cardiomyopathy on the Children's Heart Federation website 

Ward information

Are you visiting the hospital? Our wards and admissions section has details of where to go and what to expect.

Coming to hospital

From directions to support services and general health advice; everything you need to know for your visit.

Become a Foundation Trust member